CONFERENCES/EXHIBITIONS

AFRINIC’s Next Webinar To Address Establishment Of A Resilient DNS Infrastructure

274views

By Ifeoma Asika, Correspondent Campuses

AFRINIC is partnering once again with Packet Clearing House(PCH) and United States Telecommunications Training Institute(USTTI) to bring a two-part webinar series on DNS to address:

* How to properly set up a resilient DNS Infrastructure  built for July 23,  2020

* DNS Security and Privacy  built for  August 6,  2020.

DNS is a critical service on the Internet. However, while assisting organisations with their IPv6 deployments, AFRINIC says it has observed that their DNS is not properly set up in addition to many security and privacy concerns that engineers and the general community may not be aware of.

According to Marketing and PR Manager  at African Network Information Centre, Susan M.A. Otieno, this first webinar will therefore:

 * Describe how the DNS components work together to provide the DNS   service.

 * Look at how to design and deploy authoritative DNS servers and resolvers.

 * Understand the relationship between IP, IRR and reverse zones.

 * Understand the role of anycast in DNS.

Attendees are advised to use the following link to register:

https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/2015686259690/WN_NM2L835HQEesSEa8u4BpVw

Other details about the virtual event are as follow:

Date: 23rd July 2020

Time:

 * 12:30 UTC (Ghana, Cote D’Ivoire)

 * 13:30 WAT (Nigeria, Cameroon)

 * 15:30 EAT (Kenya, Uganda)

 * 16:30 GST (Mauritius, Seychelles, Madagascar)

This webinar will be in English. A French one will be organised later.

The second webinar will focus on the various DNS privacy and security risks, what has been done to secure the DNS protocol suite and  infrastructure and how you can maximize your security and privacy.

These virtual events are coming on the heels of the one jointly organized with USTTI , PCH  and AFRINIC on  June 26, 2020, that addressed Internet Infrastructure Support in a Time of Crisis. The webinar was an in-depth discussion about Internet routing topology, points of criticality, an overview of DNS topology along with a summary of OECD findings on the effect of the pandemic on Internet infrastructure. The two hour session answered a variety of questions and provided resources for the 168 participants.

“We would like to extend special thanks to Bill Woodcock, Executive Director of Packet Clearing House, his PCH team and AFRINIC for their support in planning and conducting the webinar. The dedication of these teams to put on this program and partner with the USTTI is greatly appreciated as it required a great amount of remote planning and execution in this time of social distancing. The dialogue was highly informative, fruitful and will hopefully lead to further training sessions,” USTTI said on its website,   https://ustti.org

Leave a Response

bahis canlı casino siteleri canlı bahis siteleri